Totally Biased Fan’s Review – Christie Lamb – All She Wrote

christielamb

Christie Lamb is one of the most versatile of the young artists coming through in country music. She covers many shades of country music. Being a ballad girl, I am very fond of her slower songs, but there is something for everybody on this album. I have been fortunate enough to see Christie quite a lot of times in the last few years, live, and she has both the talent and the persona to go forth big time in the country music industry.

Broken Record is a great rockin’ country song to start the album off. All She Wrote is the single and a very thought provoking song, listen closely and you will hear the message. Something in the Way continues the thread, Manhunt is bluesy and rockin’ very much in the Melissa Etheridge mold.
The next one is one of my faves, and Christie probably would guess that. Wish you were a cowboy – wonderful song, shows off Christie’s wonderful vocals and I love the lyrics.. extremely biased, I guess. Mention cowboy and I am totally sold!
Love me tonight – Another rockin’ country song. Maybe not what some people would call country, but catchy and cool.
He’s the Trouble – Feel like I am ready for a duel on Main Street, western town! Know what you are talking about girl. I attract trouble!
What I love about love – Pure country vocals, a little bit of torch and twang, hint of Gina, gets the toes tapping.
Perfect Crime – A little bit rockabilly, a little bit twang.
Pass me a lighter – I have heard Christie sing this live a few times. Her voice is so strong and powerful, I can certainly see her as a crossover artist, if she can get the airplay.
My favourite song on the album is the song that she left til last. Perhaps great album planning, perhaps wishful thinking. Watered Down Whiskey. This might be a totally biased comment, being a ballad girl, but this is the song that will make her famous on a big scale if she releases it. Christie has one of the most powerful voices in Australian Country Music. She is so diverse in her attack on songs and her audience is very loyal and devoted. Ballads are her strength. As a musician, she has the capabilities of any great country music star on the planet, go for it girl, I am very proud of you, for what it is worth.

Leave a comment