Classic Country Albums: Billy Dean – Real Man

billydThis was a hard choice too. Love Billy and all that he does. The multi-talented vocalist/musician with the matinee idol looks (even now at 51) and the killer smile has made some great music.

Billy the Kid was the first song that I ever heard, and I bought two albums on the strength of my love for that original single, not knowing any of the songs on them at the time. I now own all of his albums. One of the two albums I bought ears unheard, was this one, Real Man. (Aptly titled album in my view…Hubba Hubba). Shallow, female thoughts aside, it is beautiful music. From the opening song, A Fall In Tennessee to the last song, She gets what she wants, this is a winner. My faves are the title track, I’m Not needed here now, the beautiful duet with our own Gina Jeffreys: If I could find the heart to love again, the goosebump producer, Voices Singing and my number one favourite By my song….which reduces me to tears every time that I hear it.

Billy has a certain quality to his voice that does make you feel emotional. He can play the fiddle, the guitar and other instruments, but his voice is what cuts deep. He has such a pure voice. Buying this album without knowing what was on it was one of the best purchases that I have ever made. I challenge you to listen to these songs without feeling something.

Leave a comment